National Council for Adoption Blog https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/ Blog posts for National Council for Adoption en-gb jshull@adoptioncouncil.org Copyright 2018 Joe Kroll Honored with Foster Care Award https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2018/06/joe-kroll-honored-with-foster-care-award Fri, 22 Jun 2018 15:41:00 -0600 https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2018/06/joe-kroll-honored-with-foster-care-award Foster Care Regarding children being held at the border https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2018/06/regarding-children-being-held-at-the-border Fri, 22 Jun 2018 13:49:00 -0600 https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2018/06/regarding-children-being-held-at-the-border Personal Stories Foster Care and Identity Theft | National Foster Care Month https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2018/05/foster-care-and-identity-theft--national-foster-care-month Thu, 31 May 2018 19:36:00 -0600 https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2018/05/foster-care-and-identity-theft--national-foster-care-month NCFA Board Leadership https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2018/05/ncfa-board-leadership Tue, 29 May 2018 17:45:00 -0600 https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2018/05/ncfa-board-leadership Get Involved Your Guide to the 2017 Intercountry Adoption Stats https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2018/03/your-guide-to-the-2017-intercountry-adoption-stats Fri, 23 Mar 2018 18:30:00 -0600 https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2018/03/your-guide-to-the-2017-intercountry-adoption-stats Global Adoption Petition for Responsible Intercountry Adoption Reform https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2018/03/petition-for-responsible-intercountry-adoption-reform Thu, 22 Mar 2018 17:47:00 -0600 https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2018/03/petition-for-responsible-intercountry-adoption-reform Advocacy Federal Funding for Adoption Incentives https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2018/03/federal-funding-for-adoption-incentives Thu, 15 Mar 2018 15:51:00 -0600 https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2018/03/federal-funding-for-adoption-incentives Advocacy New Fees Make Intercountry Adoption More Expensive https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2018/02/new-fees-make-intercountry-adoption-more-expensive Tue, 06 Feb 2018 00:57:00 -0700 https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2018/02/new-fees-make-intercountry-adoption-more-expensive Global Adoption Adoptive Family Invited to State of the Union https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2018/01/adoptive-family-invited-to-state-of-the-union Tue, 30 Jan 2018 21:35:00 -0700 https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2018/01/adoptive-family-invited-to-state-of-the-union Personal Stories Using Accurate Adoption Language https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2018/01/using-accurate-adoption-language Mon, 22 Jan 2018 14:44:00 -0700 https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2018/01/using-accurate-adoption-language Get Involved Ethiopia Bans Intercountry Adoption https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2018/01/ethiopia-bans-intercountry-adoption Wed, 10 Jan 2018 22:11:00 -0700 https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2018/01/ethiopia-bans-intercountry-adoption Global Adoption Stats Show Our Nation's Foster Care System is in Trouble https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2018/01/stats-show-our-nations-foster-care-system-is-in-trouble Thu, 04 Jan 2018 14:24:00 -0700 https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2018/01/stats-show-our-nations-foster-care-system-is-in-trouble Research International Conference Explores Armenia's Goal to Close Institutions https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2017/11/international-conference-explores-armenias-goal-to-close-institutions Mon, 20 Nov 2017 21:06:00 -0700 https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2017/11/international-conference-explores-armenias-goal-to-close-institutions Global Adoption Adoption Tax Credit Preserved in the House and Senate https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2017/11/adoption-tax-credit-preserved-in-the-house-and-senate Fri, 10 Nov 2017 02:06:00 -0700 https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2017/11/adoption-tax-credit-preserved-in-the-house-and-senate Advocacy House Intends to Repeal Adoption Tax Credit https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2017/11/house-intends-to-repeal-adoption-tax-credit Tax Cuts and Jobs Act proposes to repeal the adoption tax credit. NOW is the time to advocate to #SaveTheATC, which helps thousands of adoptive families every year.]]> Fri, 03 Nov 2017 17:17:00 -0600 https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2017/11/house-intends-to-repeal-adoption-tax-credit Advocacy C.O.A. to Terminate Their Role as a National Accrediting Entity https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2017/10/coa-to-terminate-their-role-as-a-national-accrediting-entity intends to transition out of this role over the next 14 months, citing the U.S. Department of State's Office of Children's Issues's significant policy changes as inconsistent with COA’s philosophy and mission. Here is our take on escalating disagreements between federal policymakers and intercountry adoption service providers, and our recommendations for all involved to have constructive conversations around our common goal: to ensure that the world's children have an opportunity to thrive in a loving, permanent family.]]> Fri, 06 Oct 2017 18:58:00 -0600 https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2017/10/coa-to-terminate-their-role-as-a-national-accrediting-entity Global Adoption The U.S. Opioid Epidemic and Its Effect on Child Welfare https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2017/09/the-us-opioid-epidemic-and-its-effect-on-child-welfare Fri, 15 Sep 2017 19:19:00 -0600 https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2017/09/the-us-opioid-epidemic-and-its-effect-on-child-welfare Research The Importance of Obtaining Certificates of Citizenship https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2017/09/the-importance-of-obtaining-certificates-of-citizenship all current and past intercountry adoptions. Learn more about the importance of the COC here and find out how to apply for a COC if you haven't already done so.]]> Thu, 14 Sep 2017 18:49:00 -0600 https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2017/09/the-importance-of-obtaining-certificates-of-citizenship Global Adoption Intercountry Adoption Options for Older Parents https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2017/09/intercountry-adoption-options-for-older-parents Thu, 07 Sep 2017 17:11:00 -0600 https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2017/09/intercountry-adoption-options-for-older-parents Prospective Adoptive Parents Intercountry Adoption Options for LGBT+ Parents https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2017/08/intercountry-adoption-options-for-lgbt-parents Thu, 31 Aug 2017 14:57:00 -0600 https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2017/08/intercountry-adoption-options-for-lgbt-parents Prospective Adoptive Parents Intercountry Adoption Options for Single Parents https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2017/08/intercountry-adoption-options-for-single-parents Thu, 24 Aug 2017 17:50:00 -0600 https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2017/08/intercountry-adoption-options-for-single-parents Prospective Adoptive Parents NCFA Welcomes New V.P. Ryan Hanlon https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2017/08/ncfa-welcomes-new-vp-ryan-hanlon Mon, 21 Aug 2017 16:27:00 -0600 https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2017/08/ncfa-welcomes-new-vp-ryan-hanlon Get Involved What Does "Special Needs" Mean in Adoption? https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2017/07/what-does-special-needs-mean-in-adoption Wed, 26 Jul 2017 19:48:00 -0600 https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2017/07/what-does-special-needs-mean-in-adoption Adoptive Family Resources Meet NCFA's 2017 Awardees! https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2017/07/meet-ncfas-2017-awardees Thu, 06 Jul 2017 12:42:00 -0600 https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2017/07/meet-ncfas-2017-awardees National Adoption Conference Helping Children Cope with Celebrations https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2017/07/helping-children-cope-with-celebrations Tue, 04 Jul 2017 18:13:00 -0600 https://www.adoptioncouncil.org/blog/2017/07/helping-children-cope-with-celebrations Adoptive Family Resources